Saturday, May 21, 2011

Sudirman Cup-2011 starts tomorrow

The 12th Double Star BWF Sudirman Cup-2011 Mixed Team Championships badminton tournament will be held at the Qingdao Sports Centre Conson Stadium, in Qingdao, China from the 22nd -29th May 2011.

The Sudirman Cup badminton tournament is a World team championships, that is held every two years, and it is one of the most prestigious titles in badminton. The cup is named in the memory of former champion badminton player Dick Sudirman of Indonesia (1922-1986) who was the founder of the Badminton Association of Indonesia (PBSI) as well as its chairman for 22 years. Dick was also the vice president of IBF (The International badminton federation) in 1975.

India is seeded 10th in the event, and is thus a part of the Level 1 elite group which consists of the world's top 12 national teams. The 12 teams in Level 1 are further divided into 4 groups, of 3 teams each. The Indian team is placed in Group C alongwith teams from Thailand and Chinese Taipei.

The Indian badminton team selected for the Sudirman Cup 2011 mixed team championships consists of 7 male players, and 6 female players.

Indian Team:

Men players:
Arvind Bhat
Pranav Chopra
Akshay Dewalkar
Rupesh Kumar
P. Kashyap
Sanave Thomas
Arun Vishnu

Women players:
Aparna Balan
Jwala Gutta
Aditi Mutatkar
Saina Nehwal
Ashwini Ponnappa
Prajakta Sawant

The Sudirman Cup-2011 is scheduled to start from tomorrow 22nd May. India is drawn to play against the Chinese Taipei team first.

Related Articles:

India lose Sudirman Cup Opening tie - go down to Chinese Taipei 2-3


No comments:

Post a Comment