Sunday, July 3, 2011

Asia Youth Badminton-2011

The Asia Youth (u-19) mixed team badminton tournament (Badminton Asia Youth Under 19 Team Championships 2011) is being held at Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh in India from 2nd to 5th Jul-2011.

The teams from Asia were divided into 4 groups.

Group A: China, Japan, Bangladesh, Syria
Group B: Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Thailand, Sri Lanka, Jordan.
Group C: Indonesia, HongKong, Singapore, Nepal
Group D: Malaysia, India, Vietnam, Iran

The Indian squad for the tournament is as below:

 B. Venkatesh
 C. Rohit Yadav
 Hemanagendra Babu
 Pratul Joshi
 N.V.S. Vijetha
 Shivam Sharma
 Srikanth K.
 Sameer Verma

 G. Ruthvika Shivani
 Gauri Ghate
 Daya Elsa Jacob
 Tanvi Lad
  K Maneesha
 P.V. Sindhu
 S.R. Poorvisha
 Arathi Sara Sunil

In group D, India lost to Malaysia 2-3, however defeated Vietnam 5-0 winning all the 5 matches comfortably. The top 2 teams in each group qualify for the next rounds.

The mixed team events will be followed next by individual events.

Related Posts: Next posts

No comments:

Post a Comment