Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Victor Indonesia International Challenge-2011

The Indonesian open badminton tournament (formally known as the Victor Indonesia International Challenge 2011) is being played at Surabaya, in East Java, Indonesia from 19-Jul-2011 to 23-Jul-2011. The tournament has got good participation with players of several countries taking part in the competition to prove their mettle.

The seeded players are below:

Women's Singles (WS):Fransiska Ratnsari Harisaputra (Indonesia) who is currently ranked no.35 in the world badminton rankings is the top seed followed by Tan Lianne (Belgium), Ana Rovita (Indonesia) and Nitchaon Jindapol (Thailand).

For India, the players who are participating in the women's singles event of the Indonesia open-2011 are Aditi Mutatkar (seeded 13th), Arundhati Pantawane, Neha Pandit, PC Thulasi and PV Sindhu.

Men's Singles (MS):
Tommy Sugiarto of Indonesia, who is currently no.26 in the badminton world rankings, is the top seed, and is followed by Yunus Alamsyah who is his country mate, and then by Matthieu Lo Ying Ping of France, and Anand Pawar of India who is the 4th seed.

Indian players have participated at this Victor Indonesia open badminton tournament in large numbers, and those who are playing in the men's singles event are Anand Pawar, Aditya Prakash, Prakash Jolly, Anup Sridhar (8th seed), Prannoy HS, Sourabh Verma (9th seed), Sarang Lakhanee, Sai Praneet B, and Sonic Prabhudesai.

Women's Doubles (WD):
Top seeds are: Gebby Ristiyani Imawan / Tiara Rosalia Nuraidah
Second seeds: Della Destiara Haris / Suci Rizki Andini
The top 3 seeded pairs in the WD are from the host country.

The Indian pairs participating in the women's doubles event at the victor indonesia open international challenge badminton tournament are Pradnya Gadre/Prajakta Sawant and Shuti Kurien/Nitya Sosale.

Men's Doubles (MD):
Top seeds are:  Liu Yi / Yeo Zhao Jiang Terry of Singapore.
Second seeds:  Fernando Kurniawan / Wifqi Windarto from Indonesia.

Mixed Doubles (XD):
Top seeds are:  Viki Indra Okvana / Gustiani Megawati (Indonesia)
Second seeds:  Chrisnanta Danny Bawa / Neo Yu Yan Vanessa (Singapore)

After quite some time, India has sent such a large contingent for an international badminton tournament, and it is a good sign for the future, that young junior players like PV Sindhu have got a chance to gain more international exposure through this tournament.


No comments:

Post a Comment