Sunday, April 10, 2011

MBL - teams

MBL - Maharashtra Badminton league will be played over 3 weekends (6 days) starting from 7th May-2011. The first weekend matches will be held at PDMBA in Pune, the next weekend at NMSA complex at Vashi, Navi Mumbai, and the 3rd weekend matches back again at Pune.

The auctions for MBL have all been done, and the players have been divided into 6 teams, with each team having 7 to 8 players.

The MBL badminton league matches will be conducted on similar lines as the Sudirman Cup format (which is a mixed team format). There will be a total of 5 matches in each play-off round. 2 men's singles matches, 1 women's singles match, 1 men's doubles, and 1 mixed doubles match.

Undoubtedly it is because of this format, and the weightage that it offers to doubles matches, that players such as Jishnu Sanyal and Akshay Dewalkar who are proven doubles specialists with good enough singles skills earned the maximum bid amounts at the auction. Jishnu pocketed the maximum Rs. 81000 bid, while Akshay was not close behind at Rs. 70000

The MBL (Maharashtra Badminton League), final team structure is as below:
Each team consists of two women players listed towards the end of each list.

Daring Doves
Eshan Naqvi
Subhankar Dey
Gandhar Marathe
Shlok Ramchandra
Varun Khanwalkar
Sanyogita Ghorpade
Trupti Murgunde

Fabulous Falcons
Jishnu Sanyal
Abhidnya Sawant
Mayank Gole
Harsheel Dani
Nihar Tilekar
Dhanya Nair
Sayali Gokhale

Flamboyant Flamingos
Ajay Jayaram
Nigel D'Sa
Devavrat Bhalerao
Harshad Bhagwat
Shirshail Mitkari
Tom Thomas
Neha Pandit
Jui Agaskar

Gorgeous Gannets
Akshay Dewalkar
Rohit More
Sarang Lakhani
Aditya Pandya
Prashant Bahatare
Gauri Ghate
Riya Pillai

Inspiring Eagles
Anand Pawar
Prasad Shetty
Jayendra Dhole
Nikhil Kolhatkar
Nishad Dravid
Arundhati Pantawane
Prajakta Sawant

Sensational Skylarks
Ameya Joshi
Sameer Bhagwat
Abhishek Kulkarni
Ankush Jadhav
Sudhanshu Medshikar
Varun Sarode
Aditi Mutatkar
Pradnya Gadre

Almost all the teams are fairly well-matched, and there is not much to choose from when trying to guess who will win the MBL, however according to me the Inspiring Eagles looks the strongest on paper, considering Anand Pawar's experience, and Arundhati's splendid form, and especially if Prajakta gets good support in the doubles, they seem to me to have a brighter chance of winning MBL-2011.

Let's wait and watch.
MBL starts on 7th May-2011.

Related Articles:

MBL off to a flying start - Daring Doves win first round


No comments:

Post a Comment